7 Chakras • Colors • Minerals • Chants

The word “Chakra” derives from the Sanskrit word which means “Wheel” and the literal translation from Hindi, means “Wheel of Spinning Energy”. If you will, please imagine a chakra as a vortex-like, center of energy. Within our bodies, you have seven of these major energy centers and many more minor ones. This post is about the major energy centers that everyone knows as the seven chakras.

Chakras are our Energy Centers

The Seven Chakras

Chakras are the energy centers of our bodies. Studying them is for the purpose of bringing greater awareness, balance, good-will, and overall contentment and happiness.

You may think of them as invisible, rechargeable, energy points that need maintenance on a regular basis. Yet, to many in the Western world, this type of thinking is foreign and incomprehensible. However, over the past 50 years, there is a strong resurgence of curiosity and practice of Eastern cultures and philosophy.

Healing Chants

Life Flows Smoothly with Balance

Imagine the flow of energy from the 1st chakra (root chakra) to the 7th chakra (crown chakra). This is your whole being’s main source of energy and what keeps you balanced or unbalanced. Moreover, when all your chakras are in a state of balance and harmony, the energy flows smoothly and life is good.

However, they might distort with blockages caused by too much stress from mental, emotional, or physical issues. When this happens you feel dis-ease with your surroundings, or you might feel just plain ill. This also means that one or more of your chakras are out of balance.

The good news is, there are effective ways to deal with unbalanced or over-stimulated chakras. Below is a list along with a brief explanation of each.

Headline for The 7 Chakras • Colors • Spiritual Meanings

The 7 Chakras • Colors • Spiritual Meanings

1st Chakra

Red brings strength wherever it’s found. This color is one of energy, action, confidence, and courage. Moreover, it’s is closely associated with our most natural physical and spontaneous need to endure and the will to survive. The Base Chakra is the densest of the seven chakras so it makes sense that red is also the densest of all chakra colors.
Level: 1st Chakra • Root • Coccyx Perieum
Color: Red
Sanskrit: Muladhara

2nd Chakra

The Sacral Chakra is also the Svadhisthana which is Sanskrit for “vital force” or “dwelling place of the self”. It is the center for all of our emotions. Therefore, it affects our ability to be in healthy relationships and it is the absolute hub of our creativity. It drives us to see beyond the ordinary and opens our minds to hold our dreams in reverence and to never give up.
Order: 2nd Chakra • Sacral • Lower Abdomen
Color: Orange
Sanskrit: Svadhisthana

3rd Chakra

Yellow is also the color most closely associated with the Solar Plexus Chakra or Manipura. This is an energy center that provides momentum to realize your goals and ambitions in your lifetime. As a result, it affects your development of warrior energy and is the drive that helps you to stay the course to success.
Order: 3rd Chakra • Solar Plexus • Stomach
Color: Yellow
Sanskrit: Manipura

4th Chakra

The Sanskrit name for the Heart Chakra is Anahata and it is represented by a lotus with 12 petals. The Heart Chakra is also the energy bridge connecting the lower chakras and the upper chakras. Our Heart Chakra is the fourth chakra is the center of our emotions and feelings so, therefore, is the energy center for happiness, love, sadness, and anger. This is where unconditional love exists within us and gives us the impetus to progress through our spiritual development.
Order: 4th Chakra • Heart • Center of Chest
Color: Green
Sanskrit: Anahata

5th Chakra

The color blue is soothing and brings harmonic calmness into our lives. It is also the color of the 5th Chakra, also known at the Throat Chakra. It is said that your communication skills are improved when you meditate surrounded by blue items such as clothing or candles. In the aura, blue indicates serenity, contentment and spiritual development. So, look to the skies, the lakes, the seas of the earth for the lovely benefits that that the color of blue brings into our lives.
Order: 5th Chakra • Throat • Throat
Color: Blue
Sanskrit: Vishuddha

6th Chakra

Indigo is the color of the Third Eye Chakra. When you need to see beyond your immediate reality, indigo helps you reach deep meditation and increases your awareness. Indigo symbolic color of spirituality combines blue and violet to get its mysterious, deep hue. It represents the mind, thoughts, knowledge and intuition. Indigo and the third eye chakra allows you to recognize patterns so that you are aware of your own actions past and present. This knowledge naturally allows you to live in the present peacefully.
Order: 6th Chakra • Third Eye • Forehead
Color: Indigo
Sanskrit: Ajna

7th Chakra

The seventh chakra or the crown chakra has, for thousands of years, been depicted as white, gold, violet, and the purple symbolic color. If our crown chakra is blocked, we might experience depression, alienation, and inability to learn. It may cause the ego to run riot with strong urges to feel popular or an excessive need for sympathy. When we release blockage of our crown chakra, it aligns us with the oneness of the universe and gives us strength and confidence to move forward with our plans and dreams.
Order: 7th Chakra • Crown • Top of Head
Color: Purple
Sanskrit: Sahasrara

It is our wish that you find this post enlightening and helpful. If you have any questions or suggestions, we love to hear from you in the comments below. Also, kindly accept our invitation to join our group on Facebook to surround yourself with kindred spirits and post your encouraging messages.

3 Red Christmas Berry Plants to Boost Your Holiday Cheer
Winter Solstice Quotes • Season of Renewal
3 Ways to Celebrate this Year's Winter Solstice
Solar Plexus 3rd Chakra Manipura Energy Center
Impact of colors on moods, feelings, and behaviors
7 Dreams of Autumn • Colors, Warmth, & Transition
Crystal Structure • The Form Behind the Sparkle
Crystal Science and How crystals Form
Blessings and rituals for your bedroom

Beautiful Lives Updates

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top

Beautiful Lives Updates